Wednesday , December 13 2017

Latest News

Vehicles, the main polluter in Bhutan

The National Environment Commission’s strategy and a roadmap recommend using e-taxis, urban buses and hybrid vehicles to address the growing vehicle emission in the country

Low carbon vehicle strategy and a roadmap developed by National Environment Commission (NEC) recommend using e-taxis, urban buses and hybrid vehicles to address the growing vehicle emission in the country. According to Bhutan State of Environment report 2016, the concentration of particulate matter particles with a diameter of 10 micrometre ...

Read More »

Cooperatives blame brokers for hiking egg price

From Nu 1,650 a carton, the price of egg has increased to Nu 2,100 in the last two weeks. While consumers and sellers blame farmers for increasing the price, farmers and cooperative groups say that it is the brokers who hike the egg price. One of the main egg-supplying centres ...

Read More »

CBIP recognises MHPA as best construction agency

India’s Central Board of Irrigation and Power (CBIP) has recognised Mangdechhu Hydroelectric Power Authority (MHPA) as the best construction agency. The award will be presented on January 5 next year in New Delhi. During the occasion, a monthly technical journal titled ‘Water and Energy International’ will also be released, highlighting ...

Read More »

Making internet safe and accessible for children

The State of the World’s Children 2017 is themed Children in a Digital World

The State of the World’s Children 2017 has recommended actions to protect children from online harm and called for close coordination at international and national levels to keep pace with digital technology that enables and conceals online child sexual abuse. Other recommendations include providing children with affordable access to high-quality ...

Read More »

Researchers find new bat and beetle species

Bhutanese researchers have recorded 15 new lady beetles and 11 species of bats in the country. The bat species were discovered from Chukha. The research was presented at the 4th Annual Bhutan Ecological Society Symposium in Thimphu. Lady beetle species are widely known for their predatory roles. Although their roles ...

Read More »

An agent of change for Sinchula residents

Sanjeev Subba

The community credits HA Sanjeev Subba for his contribution in reducing sanitation related diseases Sometime in 2014, words started doing round that the health assistant (HA) of Sinchula basic health unit (BHU) in Darla, Chukha would be transferred. The people of Sichula appealed to the Chukha dzongkhag administration to retain ...

Read More »

BCSEA yet to decide on missing atomic weight table

The Bhutan Council for School Examination and Assessment (BCSEA) is yet to decide on whether to award bonus marks for one of the questions in the Chemistry paper for class X, after it was found that the question paper did not give the atomic weight table, which otherwise is mandatory. ...

Read More »

HH Je Khenpo consecrates Lhabab Choeten in Trashigang

His Holiness the Je Khenpo consecrates the Lhabab Choeten at Kheri in Trashigang yesterday. Retired soldiers constructed the choeten as part of the retired armed forces’ social service project.

His Holiness the Je Khenpo consecrated the Lhabab Choeten at Kheri in Trashigang yesterday. Former soldiers constructed the choeten as part of retired armed forces’ social service project. Tshering Samdrup, the architect of the choeten, said: “By far this is one of the best. This is exactly what I wanted.” ...

Read More »

Paro court orders SP+ peddler to pay thrimthue

The man will, however be imprisoned for cannabis trafficking Paro dzongkhag court ordered a 27-year-old man to pay Nu 225,000 in lieu of five years prison term for illicit trafficking of narcotic drugs and psychotropic substances. Sonam Tobgay from Drujeydingkha in Shaba, Paro, was found guilty of concealing 3,457 capsules ...

Read More »

Livestock department receives ‘Institutionalising Compassion’ Award

DoL officials with the award in Thimphu

The Department of Livestock (DoL) received the prestigious award for “Institutionalising Compassion” at the 10th Asia for Animals Conference in Kathmandu, Nepal from December 2-5. The award recognises the department’s contribution in improving animal welfare in the country and implementing the nationwide dog population management campaign. DoL and Humane Society ...

Read More »

Short circuit responsible for bus fire incident

A short circuit had ignited the fire that burnt the Subash Transport bus in Phuentsholing on December 1 morning, according to police findings. The short circuit had triggered the ignition, causing the bus to move and hit the Road Safety and Transport Authority (RSTA) RSTA building. A joint investigation led ...

Read More »