Home / NA Elections 2018 (page 20)

NA Elections 2018

DNT’s Nubi-Tangsibji candidate under investigation

The dzongkhag dispute settlement committee in Trongsa is investigating a complaint Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) lodged against Nubi-Tangsibji constituency’s Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) candidate Yeshey Penjor for alleged violation of campaign rules. Returning officer Kinzang Tobgye told Kuensel that his office received the complaint on September 18. In a WeChat …

Read More »

DNT focuses on east to narrow the gap

DNT holds a press conference to announce its campaign launch for the general round

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) would start its campaign for the general round of third National Assembly elections from either Nganglam in Pemagatshel or Bartsham-Shongphu in Trashigang. “At the outset of this campaign, we would like to state an honest hope and wish to pursue a strategy that is not driven …

Read More »

DPT enters general round with existing 47 candidates

Amid speculations about its strategy for the general election, the Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) has confirmed that the party has no plans to replace its candidates to contest in the general round next month. DPT spokesperson Dorji Wangdi told Kuensel the party has already instructed all the existing 47 candidates to file in their nomination with the respective returning officer. “We have asked our candidates to remain in their constituency to file in their nomination,” he said.

Read More »

Chukha and Jakar tshechus to be held as scheduled

The Cabinet of the interim government has lifted the embargo implemented during the election period that had led to the deferment of tshechus in Chukha and Jakar, Bumthang. The second day of Chukha and Jakar tshechu falls on the poll day, October 18. Chukha dzongkhag administration on August 24 announced …

Read More »

Why Paro chose DPT & DNT

Voters queue at the Paro College of Education polling station during the poll day on September 15

DPT and DNT took a constituency each in Paro on September 15. Of the 18,684 registered voters in Paro, 13,652 people cast their votes. Voter turnout was 73 percent. More than 6,500 voters participated in the election from Dokar-Sharpa constituency where Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) secured the highest votes – …

Read More »

How DNT and PDP found their foothold in Wangdue

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa’s (DNT) victory in Wangdue could be attributed to postal ballot votes the party got from two constituencies — Nyisho-Saephu and Athang-Thedtsho. Although People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and DNT were equally popular in Nyisho-Saephu, postal ballot votes led DNT to victory. DNT’s lead with about 350 postal ballot …

Read More »

Minister loses in Gasa

Unlike the out come at the national level, postal ballots did not make a difference in Gasa. In Khatoed Laya constituency, Damchoe Dorji, the former foreign minister and one of the two-opposition members in 2008 lost to Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa’s Tenzin by 129 votes. Damcho Dorji secured 278 votes, 63 …

Read More »

How Trongsa chose DNT and PDP

Ministership could have been a factor in Draagteng-Langthel constituency Breaking Druk Phuensum Tshogpa’s (DPT) stronghold, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won the Nubi-Tangsibji constituency in Trongsa this time. DNT is represented by Yeshey Penjor and DPT by Nidup Zangpo, who has represented the constituency as a member of the parliament (MP) …

Read More »