Home / NA Elections 2018 (page 4)

NA Elections 2018

Paro goes for DNT


DNT won in both the constituencies in Paro according to the provisional results of the general election yesterday. In Lamgong-Wangchang constituency, DNT’s Ugyen Tshering secured 3,566 EVM votes with 752 postal ballots. Druk Phuensum Tshogpa’s Phub Tshering secured 3,496 votes, which included 661 postal ballots and 2,835 EVM votes. It …

Read More »

Lhuentse splits

11,222 of the 16,587 registered voters turning up in Lhuentse, yesterday

Lhuentse did not change its choice yesterday. As it did in the primary round, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won Gangzur-Minjey constituency, while Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) won Maenbi-Tsaenkhar constituency. In Gangzur-Minjey constituency, DNT’s Kinga Penjor secured 3,026 votes to win from DPT’s Tshering Dorji who secured 2,638 votes. Kinga Penjor …

Read More »

Gasa goes with DNT


Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa’s (DNT) Tenzin from Khatoed Laya and Yeshey Dem from Khamed Lunana constituencies won from Gasa yesterday. Securing an equal number of postal ballot votes, 89 each, Tenzin and Yeshey Dem led the poll by 66 and 41 votes respectively. Tenzin from Laya was sure to win was …

Read More »

No surprise in DNT’s Sarpang win

Voters in Shompang gewog centre wait in the rain to cast their vote. The rain lasted for about 15 minutes

It was no surprise when Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) swept both the constituencies of Sarpang in the general election yesterday. In Gelephu constituency, DNT’s Karma D Wangdi won 6,691 votes on the EVM and postal ballots to beat Druk Phuensum Tshogpa’s candidate (DPT) Pema Tashi. The DPT candidate secured 5,433 …

Read More »

A landslide victory for DPT in Pemagatshel

Nganglam LSS

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) maintained its stronghold in Pemagatshel to win all the three constituencies in both postal ballots and Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) votes. Provisional results show that it was a landslide victory for DPT in all three constituencies. In Nganglam constituency, DPT’s Choida Jamtsho secured 3,576 votes, 1,893 …

Read More »

Zhemgang chooses DPT

Zhemgang CS polling station

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) held on in Zhemgang with both its candidates winning in their constituencies.  Dorji Wangdi from Panbang constituency won 2,984 votes to be elected for the third time as a member of parliament. He got 1,596 votes on the EVM and 1,388 from postal ballots.  His opponent, …

Read More »

DNT wins both constituencies in Chukha

The people of Chukha chose Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) over Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT). DNT’s Tshewang lhamo of Bongo-Chapcha Constituency won by 3,153 more than Druk Phuensum DPT’s Pemba. Tshewang lhamo secured 4,493 EVM votes and 2,139 postal votes. Of the 2,282 facilitation ballots, seven were rejected. A sixty-five-year old …

Read More »

In Nyamrup spirit, Dagana votes for change


As it was in the primary round, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa won by a landslide in both the constituencies of Dagana.  In Lhamoidzingkha-Tashiding constituency, DNT’s Hemanth Gurung won 6,257 votes, of which 1,924 were postal ballot votes. His opponent DPT’s Prem Kumar Khatiwara secured 1,780 Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) votes and …

Read More »

Cranes soar in Trashiyangtse

Voters in Yangtse pose for a picture

Trashiyantse, the home of the endangered blacked-necked cranes chose the party that it is symbolised with, the cranes. In Bomdeling-Jamkhar, Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) candidate Dubthob won 3,541 votes against Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) candidate, Sangay Dorji’s 2,710 votes.  Dubthob said that in a democracy, everyone desires to form the …

Read More »

North and South Thimphu ayes for DNT

Voters queue at the Wangsisina PS in Thimphu yesterday

Family members of Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa’s (DNT) president had gathered at the Babesa polling station hours before the voting started. Five were called in to witness the mock election. The election officers ask them to vote for both the candidates, as it was a mock election to test the machines. …

Read More »

Bhutan votes for change

Winning 30 of the 47 constituencies, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won the third parliamentary national assembly election yesterday. As claimed by party president Lotay Tshering in all campaign speeches, DNT ‘easily’ swept all 12 western and southwestern dzongkhags, winning 26 constituencies.

Read More »

Voter turnout as of 1pm

A total of 141,991 voters turned up as of 1pm. There were 75,066 female and 66,925 male voters. EVM voter turnout as of 1pm is 46.6 percent. 35,497 votes cast every hour. About 148 votes were cast every minute. At least two votes were cast every second.

Read More »

First hours of poll day

7.55am:  People started queuing at the Punakha hospital since 7.55am today. It is one of the polling stations with highest number of registered voters 8am: Polling officials conduct mock election in the presence of voters at 8am at Punakha Hospital and seal the EVM 8.26am: Priority seating arrangements made for …

Read More »