Home / News (page 90)


“There is no winner or loser” 

The Prime Minister elect Lotay Tshering

Winning 53.95 percent of the votes cast in the general elections yesterday in 30 constituencies, Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) is set to form the third elected government. DNT president and prime minister elect, Lotay Tshering said his party while winning all constituencies in western, central and southern dzongkhags, had received …

Read More »

We will form an even stronger Opposition: DPT

DPT president Pema Gyamtsho

The Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) will form an even stronger Opposition in the third Parliament, the party president Pema Gyamtsho said. Having formed the first democratically elected government in 2008, DPT will form the Opposition for the second time winning 17 of the 47 seats, which is an increase of …

Read More »

It’s cranes in Bumthang

Voters queue in Tang central school polling station

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) swept both the constituencies in Bumthang. In Chhoekhor-Tang, the DPT president Pema Gyamtsho was a shoo-in to win the election against his nephew, Dawa, the candidate of Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT). While Dawa was asking Bumthang for change, Pema Gyamtsho was seen as the prime ministerial …

Read More »

Peach blossoms in Punakha

Voters arrive early to cast their votes at Punakha hospital polling station

Punakha opted for a change. The people of the two constituencies – Lingmukha-Toedwang and Kabisa-Talo chose Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa over Druk Phuensum Tshogpa yesterday in the general election. Just like in the primary round, the voters of Lingmukha-Toedwang constituency in Punakha chose DNT’s Tandi Dorji over DPT’s Sonam Wangyel Wang. …

Read More »

A landslide victory for DNT in Tsirang

Of the 23,696 registered voters, 18,668 voted yesterday

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won by a landslide in Tsirang yesterday.  Provisional results show that DNT won with a huge margin in Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) votes as well as Postal Ballots votes in both the constituencies.  In the Sergithang-Tsirangtoed constituency, DNT’s Garjaman Rai secured 6,077 votes of which 1,806 …

Read More »

Wangdue goes for Change

As the election officials began counting the postal ballots for Wangdue’s Athang-Thedtsho constituency yesterday afternoon, it was only after about 20 counts in favour of a Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) candidate that one was picked out for Druk Phuensum Tshogpa. That was enough to anticipate a similar outcome from the …

Read More »

DNT wins Haa too

Voters queue in Yangthang BHU, one of the 22 polling stations in Haa

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won both the constituencies in Haa yesterday.  In Bji-Katsho-Eusu constituency, DNT’s candidate Ugen Tenzin secured 991 more votes than Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa’s (DPT) candidate Sonam Tobgay.  Ugen Tenzin secured 1,879 votes with 1,275 EVM votes and 604 postal ballots, winning both in EVM and postal ballots. …

Read More »

DPT takes Samdrupjongkhar

Voter turnout at Samdrupjongkhar stands at about 71 percent

Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) won both the constituencies in Samdrupjongkhar. Like in the primary round, the people of Samdrupjongkhar chose DPT candidates over Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa’s (DNT). DPT’s Dewathang-Gomdar candidate, Ugyen Dorji, won by a narrow margin in the general elections 2018; DPT’s Jomotshangkha-Martshala candidate, Norbu Wangzom, defeated DNT candidate …

Read More »