Wednesday , September 2 2015

Breaking News
  • DSC07636-copy

    Seized goods auction gets Nu 6.66 million

    Update: Of the grocery items worth more than Nu 13.548 million that the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) seized from four business enterprises in Phuentsholing, only worth Nu 6.66 million were auctioned yesterday.

    Read More »

Latest News

Two arrested in craft bazar burglary

Crime: Thimphu police last month arrested two suspects involved in the burglary of a textile shop at the craft bazaar in Chubachu, two years after the case was first reported.

Read More »

Bangaluru College retracts on agreement again

Education: More than a year after they were sent on a financial aid programme to the Indo Asian Academy Degree College in Bengaluru, India, Bhutanese students are still confused with the various demands the college imposes on them.

Read More »

1,631 graduates sail through prelims

BCSE: Almost half of the 3,322 university graduates who appeared the preliminary examination (PE) on August 6, scored 50 percent and above to qualify for the main examination in October.

Read More »

China respects Bhutan’s sovereignty


Diplomacy: China will continue to respect Bhutan’s sovereignty, territorial integrity, and independence, it was pointed out by the Chinese foreign affairs vice minister, Liu Zhenmin, according to a press release from the Prime Minister’s Office.

Read More »

Police nabs Thimphu burglars


Crime: Thimphu police this month nabbed six suspects involved in 39 burglary cases in the capital. A police report said that while crime rate in general has gone down, burglary cases are on the rise.

Read More »

Mudslide blocks highway


Highway: It took two excavators almost seven hours to clear the mudslide that had blocked the Wangdue-Tsirang highway yesterday.

Read More »

Accident kills one, injures two

Traffic: A 42-year-old woman died on impact when the Toyota Hilux she was travelling in veered off and fell about 20 feet below the road near Changzamtog Lower Secondary School in Thimphu on August 24.

Read More »

BCSE 2015: Preliminary Examination result

Breaking News: The Royal Civil Service Commission is pleased to announce the result of BCSE 2015: Preliminary Examination. The Commission during a special meeting held on August 24, 2015 has decided 50% as the cut-off percentage of the Preliminary Examination (P.E.) to qualify for the Main Examination.Candidates who have achieved ...

Read More »

Problem of waste (mis) management

Weak implementation of polices have compounded to the country’s mounting garbage problem Garbage: Legislations and rules concerning waste are aplenty, yet the problem of waste continues to mount. It is not waste in itself that is the problem; failure to implement the rules is. And if so it goes along, ...

Read More »

23rd round of Bhutan-China border talks held


Diplomacy: Bhutan and China held the 23rd round of border talks at the banquet hall in Thimphu, yesterday. The outcome of the meeting is currently not known. Foreign minister Damcho Dorji, who was leading the Bhutanese delegation, did not comment as an official press release was being prepared. The Chinese ...

Read More »

My Country, My Town

  • The secularisation of a sacred space: A picture that speaks a thousand words about the ubiquity of a
    The secularisation of a sacred space: A picture that speaks a thousand words about the ubiquity of a
  • Curious shoppers: Even the bovine finds shops worth a visit. Photo by Tashi Dawa, BNB, Tingtibi
  • Off road: A milestone makes for a handy peg to which cattle may be tethered as they graze Photo by Tashi Dawa, BNBL, Tingtibi
  • For convenience’s sake: What may seem like a case of gilding the lily is actually pretty darn useful Photo by Pashupati Diyali
  • In lieu of alarm clocks: Three roosters willing and able to wake up the neighbourhood faithfully at dawn Photo by Ugyen Tshering
  • Amateur plumbing: Curious how a tap and some DIY ingenuity can add dignity to a bathroom Photo by Bidur Rai, Mountain hazelnut, Riserbu
  • Beat that, black-necked cranes! Is what this pair of cavorting goats might tell those famous birds Photo by Karma Tshering, Phuentshogling
  • Not gone but all but forgotten: Snail mail is due a comeback with the new address system in place Photo by Choidup Zangpo, MoAF, Thimphu
  • Stairwell in lieu of a shed: The housing crunch would appear to extend to the cattle population as well. Photo by Melam Dorji, Gaeddu college (BBA- final year)
  • A new leaf from an old book: Wall painting of campus done in traditional style seen in temples Photo by Tempa Rabgay, Mountain Hazelnut, Mongar