Monday, December 22nd, 2014 - 11:43 PM
Yangphel Housing Banner.gif

Huge Thai delegation in Bhutan for joint celebrations

DSC_7712Occasion: Thai dancers perform at Taj Tashi to celebrate the relation between the two countries

Diplomacy: A 105-member delegation from Thailand, led by the deputy foreign minister Don Pramudwinai, are in the country to celebrate the 87th birth anniversary of His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand, the 59th birth anniversary of His Majesty the Fourth Druk Gyalpo, the sixth anniversary of His Majesty the King’s coronation, and the 25th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between Bhutan and Thailand.

To celebrate these occasions, the Royal Thai embassy [... Read More]

Moving idle PLS’s from community centres

Underused playground learning stations to be relocated, some to school campuses

DITT: To address under-utilisation of a number of playground learning stations, the department of Information Technology and Telecom (DITT) will shift some stations to school campuses.

Playground learning stations (PLS), distinguishable by their red and yellow coloured steel enclosures, offer computer and, where available, internet access to children.

They can be found in areas where large numbers of youth live, such as the Changjiji housing [... Read More]

Three Bills introduced for fourth sitting

They have been passed on to the NA committees concerned for a review

Parliament: Three Bills, the office of the attorney general (OAG) bill, entitlement and service conditions (amendment) bill for the holders, members and commissioners of constitutional offices, and the enterprise registration bill were introduced in the national assembly (NA), yesterday.

The OAG Bill, chair of the good governance committee, Dawa Gyeltshen, said, was passed in 2006.  He said, since 2008, several Acts, such [... Read More]

Villagers want a health representative

If not a BHU, then at least someone to liaise for them at Phuentsholing hospital

Dagaygaon: People in Dagaygaon village in Chukha’s Phuentsholing gewog are facing difficulty without a basic health unit (BHU) facility.

Dagaygaon is about eight kilometres from Phuentsholing town and home to about 150 people.

Although an outreach clinic (ORC) exists, the villagers’ expectation, from their local government leaders and parliament representative, is to try to include a health assistant or a nurse, [... Read More]

Rapist sentenced to nine years

Crime: A 24-year-old man has been convicted for the rape of a 15-year-old girl and sentenced to nine and half years imprisonment by the Tsirang district court.

The convicted, Dewan Rai, from Tonshing, Tsirangtoe gewog in Tsirang was sentenced on November 10.

The incident reportedly took place on the evening of September 5, when the victim was returning home from school.

The girl is a class four student in one of the schools in Tsirang.

A friend [... Read More]

Picture story

The Bhutanese community in Kolkata comprising patients, their escorts, students and staff celebrated the birth anniversary of His Majesty the Fourth King at the Royal Bhutan Consulate. The Consul General hosted lunch for about 300 Bhutanese who had gathered to celebrate the day.



Act fast to control growing diabetes

About half of diabetic cases in South-East Asia Region are undiagnosed
World Diabetes Day- November 14: The number of people in the world suffering from diabetes is increasing. Nearly 87M people with diabetes live in the WHO South-East Asia Region. India alone accounts for 65M, the second highest in the world after China, which has 98M of the total 392M diabetics in the world. It is projected that the number of diabetics globally will reach [... Read More]

Druk Utd. takes on Sheikh Jamal in King’s Cup opener today

IMG_1578Abahani FC warms up at a training session in Changjiji yesterday

Football: At the opening match of King’s Cup at Changlimithang in Thimphu today, Druk United hopes to begin their campaign with a win against the champion Sheikh Jamal of Bangladesh.

Teams from outside Bhutan are also expecting a very interesting tournament.

Manager of Abahani Limited of Bangladesh, Satyajit Das Rupu, said that his team would make the best out of every “small chances”.

“We’re here to win the tournament. We know all about our opponents and [... Read More]

Bhutan lose to Lankans 0:3

SAFF: Bhutan’s misery got worse after losing to Sri Lanka by three goals in the on-going 3rd South Asian Football Federation women football championship at the Jinnah Stadium in Islamabad, Pakistan yesterday.

Good footwork, quick passes and unfailing stamina were what both the teams displayed in a visual treat for spectators.

Both sides did not even make an attempt at the goal in the first 19 minutes of the game. They were bent on clearing [... Read More]

Picture story

Five Bhutanese athletes are participating in the fourth Asian Beach Games that began yesterday in Phuket, Thailand. Bhutan is taking part in beach basketball and bodybuilding categories.
The Asian Beach Games is an initiative of the Olympic Council of Asia to support and promote development of different sports and to strengthen relationship between the Asian countries.


Page 41 of 1,171« First...102030...373839404142434445...506070...Last »